La performance d’une liaison optique

A fibre optic network provides a certain speed. This criterion will depend on the length of the network, the type of fibre chosen (single mode or multimode optical fibre) and the class of the latter (example: for multimode fibre 50/125μm: OM1, OM2, OM3 or OM4).

When designing the network, it is important to limit the losses associated with each event. Indeed, the latter influence the performance and durability of the network as well as its future extensions.

Here are some examples of expected values:

 

performance

 

Inadequate manufacture of optical cables or inappropriate installation can also be a factor in losses. It is important to pay attention to the bending radii of optical fibres (cords and cables) which are sources of attenuation if they are not respected.

In addition to optical performance, it is also important to respect the mechanical characteristics of the cables, such as tensile strength. Indeed, failure to comply with them can cause damage to the internal structure and consequently risks of breakage for the optical fibre.
For high speed installations, fiber intrinsic parameters such as PMD (polarization mode dispersion) and/or CD (chromatic dispersion), may also limit the flow rates.

The performance of a fiber optic installation is also dependent on its identification. Very important, it facilitates and optimizes future manipulations such as derivations, network extensions... Not being able to quickly determine the ends of a fiber implies a waste of time in the search for this information.

This criteria is important enough today to have led to the development of optical network management software. These allow the entire network to be mapped.

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

La performance d’une liaison optique

Un réseau en fibre optique permet de disposer d’un certain débit. Ce critère va dépendre de la longueur du réseau, du type de fibre choisie (fibre optique monomode ou multimode) et de la classe de cette dernière (exemple : pour la fibre multimode 50/125μm : OM1, OM2, OM3 ou OM4).

Lors de la conception du réseau, il est important de limiter les pertes associées à chaque événement. En effet, ces dernières influencent la performance et la pérennité du réseau ainsi que ses extensions futures.

Voici quelques exemples de valeurs attendues :

 

performance

 

Les mauvaises fabrications de câbles optiques ou des poses non adaptées peuvent être également des facteurs de pertes. Il est important de veiller aux rayons de courbures des fibres optiques (cordons et câbles) qui sont sources d’affaiblissement s’ils ne sont pas respectés.

Outre les performances optiques, il est également important de respecter les caractéristiques mécaniques des câbles, telles que la résistance à la traction. En effet, leur non respect peut, engendrer des dommages sur la structure interne et par conséquent des risques de casse pour la fibre optique.
Pour les installations haut débit, les paramètres intrinsèques à la fibre tels que la PMD (dispersion par mode de polarisation) et/ou la CD (dispersion chromatique), peuvent également limiter les débits.

La performance d’une installation en fibre optique est aussi dépendante de son identification. Très importante, elle facilite et optimise les manipulations futures telles que les dérivations, les extensions de réseau… Ne pas pouvoir déterminer rapidement les extrémités d’une fibre implique une perte de temps dans la recherche de ces informations.

Ce critère est suffisamment important aujourd’hui pour avoir engendré le développement de logiciels de gestion de réseau optique. Ces derniers permettent de cartographier l’ensemble du réseau.