The optical fibre cable

Optical fibre cable makes it possible to conduct and protect optical fibre from one point of the network to another, passing through ducts, cable trays to reach bays or wall boxes... Thus designing the network, it allows the grouping of 2 to 720 fibres, or even more. Depending on the type of protection and outer sheath (PE, LSZH), it provides characteristics that facilitate installation (tensile strength, crush resistance, etc.) and is adapted to the external environment.

Le câble se distingue selon 5 grandes familles :

  • The breakout optical cable
  • The optical distribution cable
  • The central tubular optical cable
  • The multitube optical cable
  • The micro-sheath optical cable

fibre1The breakout optical cable

The breakout cable is used inside a building to connect several bays. It gathers cables with garter, from 2 to 12 optical fibres (possibly 24 fibres). Thus, it is used when the user wishes to bring several optical fibres from a container A to a container B. Only one pass is then necessary.

The breakout optical fibre cable is thus mainly offered in the form of a pre-connected cable (wiring is already done at both ends). It thus has all the advantages of a cable (no connection to be made in the field, optical wiring made in the factory).


fibre2The optical distribution cable

The distribution cable allows for inter or intra-building connections. It consists of a set of super-sheathed optical fibers in 900μm. Due to its structure, this cable is less expensive than an optical breakout cable. It is therefore preferred when the connection is direct, i. e. the wiring is carried out by mounting the optical connector in the field.

The distribution cable may have an anti-rodent feature. It can integrate from 2 to 24 fibres which marking is specific to each manufacturer.


fibre3The central tubular optical cable

The central tubed cable is the most commonly used cable for low-capacity interbuilding links (maximum 24 single-mode and/or multimode optical fibres). In order to optimize its installation, this fiber optic cable is characterized by a small cross-section. This is achieved by integrating bare optical fibres which are then protected by a tube and an outer sheath of the LSZH or PE type (depending on the application). The grease in the tube protects the fibre from moisture.
This type of optical cable can also offer the "anti-rodent" feature.


fibre4The multitube optical cable

Based on the principle of the central tubular cable, the multitube optical fibre cable is intended for high-capacity cables (over 24 fibres). It consists of several tubes, each containing 6 or 12 bare optical fibres.


fibre5The micro-sheath optical cable

The micro-sheathed optical fiber cable is similar to the tube cable (central tubing and multitubes). It consists of bare fibres that are covered with a skin and then protected by an outer sheath.
The micro sheath cable is mainly used for high-capacity links, i.e. over distances that goes up to 100 km. It offers the following advantages:

  • easy to set up and store
  • no preparation tools required
  • low bending diameter
  • low cross-section even for high-capacity cables
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Le câble en fibre optique

Le câble à fibre optique permet de conduire et de protéger la fibre optique d’un point du réseau à l’autre, en passant par des fourreaux, des chemins de câble pour arriver jusqu’aux baies ou aux coffrets muraux… Concevant ainsi le réseau, il permet le regroupement de 2 à 720 fibres, voire au-delà. Selon le type de protection et de gaine extérieure (PE, LSZH), il apporte des caractéristiques facilitant la pose (la résistance à la traction, la résistance à l’écrasement…) et s’adapte à l’environnement extérieur.

Le câble se distingue selon 5 grandes familles :

  • Le câble optique breakout
  • Le câble optique distribution
  • Le câble optique tubé central
  • Le câble optique multitube
  • Le câble optique microgaine

fibre1Le câble optique breakout

Le câble breakout est utilisé à l’intérieur d’un bâtiment pour relier plusieurs baies. Il rassemble des câbles à jarretière, de 2 à 12 fibres optiques (éventuellement 24 fibres). Ainsi, il est employé lorsque l’utilisateur souhaite amener plusieurs fibres optiques d’un contenant A à un contenant B. Un seul passage est alors nécessaire.

Le câble à fibre optique breakout est ainsi proposé majoritairement sous forme de câble préconnectorisé (le câblage est déjà effectué aux deux extrémités). Il présente ainsi tous les avantages d’un cordon (pas de raccordement à réaliser sur le terrain, câblage optique réalisé en usine).


fibre2Le câble optique distribution

Le câble distribution permet de réaliser des liaisons inter ou intra bâtiments. Il se compose d’un ensemble de fibres optiques surgainées en 900μm. De part sa structure, ce câble est moins onéreux qu’un câble optique breakout. Il est ainsi privilégié lorsque le raccordement est direct, c’est-à-dire que le câblage est réalisé par le montage de connecteur optique sur le terrain.

Le câble distribution peut proposer une caractéristique anti-rongeur. Il peut intégrer de 2 à 24 fibres dont le repérage est spécifique à chaque constructeur.


fibre3Le câble optique tubé central

Le câble tubé central est le câble le plus utilisé pour les liaisons inter-bâtiments de faible capacité (maximum 24 fibres optiques monomodes et/ou multimodes). Afin d’optimiser son installation, ce câble à fibre optique se caractéristique par une faible section. Celle-ci est obtenue en intégrant des fibres optiques nues qui sont ensuite protégées par un tube et une gaine extérieure de type LSZH ou PE (dépendante de l’application). La graisse contenue dans le tube permet de protéger la fibre de l’humidité.
Ce type de câble optique peut également offrir la caractéristique « anti-rongeur ».


fibre4Le câble optique multitube

Basé sur le principe du câble tubé central, le câble fibre optique multitube est destiné à des câbles de grosse capacité (au-delà de 24 fibres). Il se compose de plusieurs tubes qui englobent chacun 6 ou 12 fibres optiques nues.


fibre5Le câble optique microgaine

Le câble à fibre optique microgaine est similaire au câble à tubes (tubé central et multitubes). Il se compose de fibres nues qui sont recouvertes d’une peau et ensuite protégées par une gaine extérieure.
Le câble microgaine est principalement utilisé pour des liaisons de forte capacité, donc sur des distances allant jusqu’à une centaine de kilomètres. Il offre les avantages suivants :

  • facilité de mise en place et de rangement
  • aucun outillage de préparation nécessaire
  • faible diamètre de courbure
  • faible section même pour des câbles à forte capacité